Once Upon A Time..

“O to be a dragon, a symbol of the power of Heaven – of silkworm size or immense; at times invisible.”

When I was still very new in Second Life, I saw an advertisement somewhere that some store owner was giving land and homes to newbies, rent free. I was very skeptical, but curious enough to go look into it. When I arrived at W&M Designs, I met the owner. A man by the name of WaL Krugman. He confirmed that yes, it was true. He was allowing new residents of Second Life to live on his land, completely for free, no strings attached. He was doing this completely out of kindness, something nice for new residents who were still getting started in SL and figuring things out.

I moved in, after we had our talk. It ended up being an extremely cool experience, for myself as a newbie. I learned a little bit about building, texturing, scripts, budgeting prims.. the usual things that come with home ownership. Once I started making art, WaL even gave me some vendor space in his store, rent free. It was really nice of him, and I ended up staying on as a resident for a couple of months. Even after he had to change sims a few times- he brought his residents along with him and made sure we still had homes to live in. Eventually, he was unable to continue providing living space for free, and we all parted ways.

I think that was just about a year ago. I bet if I looked back in my blog archives, I would see that I ended up moving out in February of last year. Once I left W&M Designs, I lost touch with WaL Krugman. I haven’t been back to his sim since then, and have not spoken to him. Cetainly not because of any ill-will or anything like that. I just simply moved on, and he had his own business to run.

“What was he doing, the great god Pan, down in the reeds by the river? Spreading the ruin and scattering ban, Splashing and paddling with hoofs of a goat, and breaking the golden lilies afloat. With the dragon-fly on the river.”

 

I’m not sure what made WaL pop into my head the other day, but I was curious if he’s still around in world.. and if he still has his dragon-themed sim. I did a search tonight and saw that he still has the same sim that he had just purchased when I left. I TP’d over, and explored his work through different eyes. His sim is now called Wraith Dragons Temple, and he has put together an amazing build. The work he’s done is outstanding. I didn’t realize what a talented artist he was, back when I was still so new.

“Deep in the sun-searched growths the dragonfly
Hangs like a blue thread loosened from the sky.”

All of the dragon sculptures are made by WaL Krugman, and are for sale. The detail on many of them is very impressive. The eyes even blink.

“And thorns shall come up in her palaces, nettles and brambles in the fortresses thereof; and it shall be a habitation of dragons, and a court for owls.”

There is a lot of beauty in this sim, and quite a bit to explore. I spent well over an hour walking around and taking pictures.. and each time I would double back, I’d see yet another sign pointing the way down a different path where something else was just around the bend. Fairy Hollow, Dragon Cave, Mermaid Lagoon, Dragon Temple.. it was hard to see everything.

“We the Fairies, blithe and antic,
Of dimensions not gigantic,
Though the moonshine mostly keep us,
Oft in orchards frisk and peep us.”

Its late now, and I’ve already been up for more than an hour past when I planned on going to bed. I’ll have to come back to WaL’s sim again, soon. I want to do some more exploring, and maybe some more photography. I highly recommend anyone reading this come to visit, as well.

“The wall is silence, the grass is sleep,
Tall trees of peace their vigil keep,
And the Fairy of Dreams with moth-wings furled
Plays soft on her flute to the drowsy world.”

 

SLurl to Wraith Dragons Temple: http://slurl.com/secondlife/Wraith%20Dragons%20Temple/197/1/66

~ by Nika Dreamscape on February 22, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
