Explore Series: Lost Town

I’ve been spending the last several days reading back through my blog, and it’s really making me realize how much I miss out on by staying on my home sim all the time. Back in 2008, I did a really interesting blog post where I explored SL by selecting profile picks at random. I would go to the sim and describe everything that I was seeing and that the people around me were doing, and of course included some pictures. I found it fascinating when I read  back over it, and I think I only ever did it that one time, so I think it’s time to try it again.

As it turns out, when I first logged into Corona Cay just now, I saw someone else on the sim. I don’t know who she is, but I pulled up her profile and was glad to see she does have some pics listed. She’s an older account, with a rez date of March 2010. I notice that seems to be really common here on Corona Cay. Almost everyone I’ve seen here has an account more than 5  years old.

Of the 7 picks she has listed, the one that looks the most interesting is Lost Town- Land of Glory. I’ll head there, first.

I arrived in what appears to be an underground bar. It’s all brickwork and concrete, very dark. I get the impression it was built inside some sort of sewer or subway system. Every now and then the lights overhead will buzz and flicker. Near the stage area is a burning trashcan. It’s very quiet, no music here. Just the occasional snap or pop from the fire, and the buzzing light.

On the other side of the room is a bar. The walls are decorated with old movie posters, artwork of classic cars and several pictures hanging up of some men in tuxedos, and a couple of women in long, elaborate flowing dresses. The whole place has a distinct mobster vibe. Despite the grungy ambiance, the bar countertop looks pristine and expensive, and the barstools are plush red velvet.

Just beyond the bar is a broken section of the wall. Through it, you can see a crashed classic car, riddled with bulletholes. I don’t know much about cars so I don’t know the make and model, but I definitely recognize it. Right clicking on the car gave me the ‘drive’ option, so I tried. But it just booted me out and set off the car alarm. Whoops!

The car appears to be in a network of sewer tunnels, just as I suspected. If I continue past the car, there’s a little walkway leading upwards, that I assume leads you out. I thought about going that way, but I want to explore the tunnels a bit more, first. So I picked one leading deeper along a canal. You can hear the echo of water dripping in the distance, and little fires light the way.

As I rounded the bend, I saw a ladder leading up to a manhole cover to the street above. But just past it, the tunnel forks in two directions. One tunnel has these tiny blue star-like lights floating down the tunnel, and every now and then you can see some sort of fog or mist.

That last stretch of tunnel was pretty long. But the other end revealed an exit, and it looks like it’s going to be really pretty out here.

As tempted as I am to explore further, I don’t want to let this to get too long. So I’ll leave the rest for the next post. 😉

~ by Nika Dreamscape on November 19, 2018.

Leave a comment