BBBC 1: Why Did You Become A Blogger?

Today is the very first day of the Big Bad Blogger Challenge, hosted by the wonderful Alicia Chenaux. Every day this week, Alicia will be posting a topic for everyone to write about on her blog. I don’t think I participated last year, but I’m going to give it a shot this year. 🙂

Today’s Topic: Why did you become a blogger? How has it enriched your life?

This is a simple one, for me. I’ve ALWAYS been a blogger. It started in grade school. I would carry a notebook everywhere I went, and I would write constantly.. I’d write about my thoughts, what was going on around me. Just my observations, in general. I was actually really inspired by the children’s book, Harriet The Spy. It wasn’t that I was spying on people, I wasn’t writing those sorts of posts. But I could really relate to her in that we both carried notebooks and wrote in them constantly. I honestly can’t remember if I picked up my habit before or after I read the book (Loooong before the movie came out.) But my writings were harmless, in nature.

I had a nightly ritual that my Mom and I shared, back then. At the end of night, I’d curl up and she’d read that days entry outloud back to me, verbatim.. misspellings, grammatical errors and all. It was always hilarious, and we’d laugh ourselves silly. We still talk about that from time to time, and I think she even still has some of my old journals stashed in a box in the attic, somewhere.

Back around 2001, I discovered Live Journal, and I moved my blogging online. It had an official term by then. I kept up my personal journal for years, and shared it with all of my friends who had Live Journal accounts of their own. then along came Second Life. And the transition from blogging the real world to the virtual world was immediate. I think I started this blog on my first or second day in world.

And here I am. 🙂 So yes.. I’ve always been a blogger. It’s just evolved along with the technology, over the years.



~ by Nika Dreamscape on June 13, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
