Building Blocks Hunt: Day 1

I absolutely love doing grid wide hunts. I subscribe to a number of blogs that cover hunts, and often when I have some free time, I’ll go hunting for a couple of hours, just for the fun of it.

See, my reason for going on hunts is anything BUT the freebies. For the most part, I won’t wear free clothing.. I don’t like wearing something I see a lot of other people wearing, and I feel better buying my wardrobe. Mainly I just go on the hunts to explore new stores I may not know about. And honestly- I like going on hunts sometimes just for the challenge of the hunt itself. Its FUN. And believe me, I don’t mind wandering around a single store for a good half hour or so, camming into every nook and cranny of the place, trying to figure out where the hunt prim might be, getting creative with the flycam. (Having a space navigator works wonders, believe me.) But really- most of the time I’ll ditch the actual hunt gift and just keep the landmarks. I still have my LM folder from the first Twisted Hunt, last year.

This morning on plurk, Isabeal posted about a hunt to beat all hunts.. I don’t think anything like this has been done before.

A builders hunt!!

Oh. My. God. 127 stores worth of textures, sculpt maps, scripts and animations? I can’t even begin to explain how excited I am about this hunt! Not only is it great for having gifts that I’ll actually keep, but what better way of finding some great resources for building materials in SL? Now I’ll have over 100 landmarks of places where I can shop for things like that.

The hunt is also fun for simply exploring and people watching, too. The first thing I noticed was how many guys are on the hunt, compared to all the others I’ve been on. Since most of them cater to fashion, you will rarely see any men on the hunts. (And I still think 95% of the ‘guys’ you see on the hunts geared towards male fashion are actually female fashion bloggers in their male alts, LOL.)

The next thing I noticed was how interesting some of the avatars look. This hunt is drawing creative types of a different nature, so I’m seeing less fashionista type avatars and more.. well..

Different genres of creativity. I love that! I realized that the people watching on this hunt is going to be a lot of fun, itself. And then there are the stores..

Xorph

Wow! This place was amazing. I think the store was called Xorph. It seemed like a normal store at first.. until a misstep sent me falling through the floor down a long tunnel. At the bottom I landed in some sort of art installation that went on forever.. I didn’t even get to explore half of it. I’m DEFINITELY going back there later to see more. It was such an amazing build. I forgot all about the hunt item for the longest time and just explored. And I realized, I was having so much fun exploring and I had only hit 3 stops, so far! I decided I’m going to do a little bit each day, and photo blog the whole thing- everything I find cool, visually stunning, interesting avatars, etc. I’m going to take snapshots and post them here on the blog, every day. And all the hunt gifts will just be icing on the cake. This is going to be a lot of fun. 🙂

~ by Nika Dreamscape on March 2, 2010.

2 Responses to “Building Blocks Hunt: Day 1”

  1. Thanks for this article. Any information on the hunt creators or where to actually start the hunt? Cheers

Leave a Reply

 
