Reboot

I’ve been thinking hard about some changes, as I touched on in my last blog post. Something else has been bugging me for awhile, though. I noticed lately that I’ve been spending literally 99% of my time in SL hidden up in my skybox, not interacting with people, not going out or doing much of anything. All I do lately is work- trying to build, trying to think of new things to create, trying to study photoshop tutorials, blender tutorials, collecting textures.. and on, and on. I’ve been getting increasingly frustrated because the more things I try to do and the thinner I’m spreading my time- the less I’m actually getting accomplished. And now, I’ve noticed that I’m starting to recognize the beginning signs of burnout.

So, I think it’s time for me to close Photoshop, set aside that lounge seat and pillows I’ve been working on.. and rediscover SL. I think a break is needed- I want to get out and socialize more. Explore.. get to know some different communities. Maybe do a bit of simple machinima- even if its just flying my space navigator around a really pretty sim for 5 minutes. And blog. I used to blog like crazy.. and lately, I’ve been letting months at a time go by without posting anything. I’d like to try to post a little something every day.. even if its just a short paragraph- a place to blurt out my thoughts or observations, or  share a picture of something cool I’ve seen. So thats my goal- at least for the time being. I don’t know if I can stick with posting every day, but I should at least be able to get a few out a week.. we’ll see what happens. 🙂

Today, I heard about a plurk party. I’ve been a few of those- but when I stopped by this one, I was SHOCKED! I’ve never seen so many people packed together in such a small area. It was a complete tangle of avatars.

Truthfully- I was overwhelmed by it all. It was impossible to follow the chat- the whole screen was just one giant block of text, scrolling past too quickly to read. I didn’t even dare try to dance. But I did hang around for a little while, said hi to a few people. I’m glad I went, even if I didn’t get to talk to everyone. 🙂

~ by Nika Dreamscape on February 21, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
