Sand Castle Studios

Since I joined Second Life back in December of 2007, I’ve been insatiably interested in the business side of SL. I’ve tried my hand at everything from art, to opening a little shop and selling a few things here or there, to freelance writing for various magazines. I’ve also been curious about the concept of actually working in SL. You know the types of jobs I mean- you often see customer service representatives in some of the larger, well known stores. Or maybe a host for a club. I love how Second Life isn’t just a game. It can be whatever you make of it- including a creative outlet, or a place of business.

A handful of months ago, I put out the call on Plurk that I was looking for an SL job so I could make some extra money. A few people got back to me with various offers, but the one that stood out to me as the most interesting, and promising, was Gianna Borgnine and her in-world company, Sand Castle Studios.

Sand Castle Studios is a full service marketing firm and design studio. We offer professional solutions to help businesses maximize the full potential of 3D virtual worlds and social media by creating interactive, social, and 3D experiences.

Sand Castle Studios has done a lot of work with various clients, such as Treet TV, Studio Nails, Draxter Despres, RAGE Combat Sports and more. Most recently, one of the larger projects that Sand Castle was involved with was President Obama’s speech in Ghana that was streamed into Second Life. (There is an article about that event here.)

I took the position of Brand Strategist, which means I do sales and project management. When a client comes into the studio, I help them determine what services they need from us, and see the project through to its completion. Several Strategists were hired together and a couple of weeks ago, we had a group training session/employee orientation with both owners of SCS- Gianna Borgnine and Reed Steamroller.

Gianna and Reed

Gianna and Reed

The training session was actually in two parts, and we had the option of attending the two sessions on different days. Most of us stayed for both sessions all in one shot though, which ended up being four and a half hours long, all in voice chat! There was a ton of information for us to learn, and I was taking notes like crazy through the whole thing. It was great though- really interesting and it really didn’t feel like it lasted that long, at all.

SCS Training Session

SCS Training Session

Being a Brand Strategist is a lot of work, but its very challenging and very rewarding- I love it! We are able to do a lot of the work via IM and email, but also need to spend a certain number of hours in the studio per week, so that we can greet incoming traffic and help people who are here looking for our services. There are no set hours, which means sometimes I might be here by myself and other times, it might be a full house!

Guddu, Watashi, Arabella, Jas and Nika

Nika, Guddu, Watashi, Arabella and Jas

I think its so funny that even in Second Life, you can arrive at work, clock in on a scripted timeclock, and chat with your co-workers as you start your day with a cup of coffee. 🙂 Everyone I work with has been incredibly cool, and it has been really fun working here- I love this job! There are a couple of projects I am involved with, and its really full filling to see them come together from scratch, and being able to help out with it. There will be more information on the projects as it gets closer to them finishing. But one of them involves having a club built from the ground up, and helping to organizing a grand opening event (coming SOON! And I can’t wait to go to that!). And the other is helping to organize a grid-wide coupon vendor system that stores will be able to participate in. In short, customers will be able to get this coupon book that will have over $200,000L in savings from all of the participating stores. Each store will have a full page ad, LM to their store, and a coupon of whatever value they want. Customers will be able to visit all their favorite stores and redeem the coupons. (If you are a store owner and would like to participate, please contact me. There is no cost to you for this first demo trial of the coupon vendor!) I’m going to be so broke when this coupon book comes out, lol. But I love the idea, sort of like a grid wide hunt in terms of people hopping from store to store, but not necessarily freebies. Store owners can set the value of their coupon to anything they want, be it 10L off an item, or even make the item free. Thats up to each store owner.

Azula

Azula

Vast and Watashi

Watashi and Vast

I am so glad Gianna saw my post on plurk, that night. That’s how I ended up meeting her- she and Reed are cool people. I really enjoy the work we do here, and I’m happy to be a part of such a great team. 🙂

Sand Castle Studios

Sand Castle Studios

Visit Sand Castle Studios

~ by Nika Dreamscape on July 31, 2009.

3 Responses to “Sand Castle Studios”

  1. Best. Blogpost. EVAR!

  2. Thank you for the nice post Nika. We are so glad to have you as part of the team!

  3. That is so cool! And they actually pay you actual real money for this? ( / considers change of professions… )

Leave a Reply

 
