City Nights

This post sort of goes hand and hand with the review of the LA Skybox I just wrote on Second Homes.

In short, I found the best skybox EVER from a post Pumpkin Saenz wrote on Baking Cupcakes. I usually am not a fan of skyboxes. But I’ve learned from experience that trying to hang out in a house on the ground pretty much means that lots of people will be stopping by, especially on Corona Cay. I don’t have a problem with that. I love visitors! And all of our builds on the ground are open to the public. I try to make them interesting, and fun for people to use and explore. But sometimes, I need privacy to work. Or I simply want to be alone, while I’m reading plurk and blogs, doing things in other windows, etc. I ended up making a private studio, far above our parcel. It pretty much was just a big black box with nothing in it. But it was my sanctuary, my place to escape and have the privacy to work. However, once I found this skybox, I deleted the studio and moved in here. I can’t tell you all how much I LOVE it! Its so cozy and so ‘me’, and still allows me plenty of privacy, since it has no real windows and only one door. But I think its pretty much known that on Corona Cay, we all have an unspoken rule that anything on the ground is open to the public. But our skyboxes are off limits. Radar and I especially- we’re both the type that like to come into SL and work.. so hermits like us need to have our little place of escape. 😉

This skybox is available right now on XStreet SL for only $1L! See my Second Homes blog for the link. Anyway, I decided to take the city by night theme and run with it. Spent hours last night and today putting in more windows and digging through my out of control House Furniture folders in inventory to totally deck it out. Here is the before photo..

And.. here is what I’ve done with it since last night.

TV Room

TV Room

 

Reading Nook

Reading Nook

 

Fish Tank

Fish Tank

(I better do some 7Seas Fishing, soon! I have no fish for my tank, the last ones all died when I was staying in Hope Clary’s attic, LOL.)

Full View 1

Full View 1

 

Full View 2

Full View 2

Since I have the house hundreds of meters up in the air, I didn’t like how opening the door would just show a huge drop into space, so I built a balcony.

Balcony

Balcony

I still want to put down another rug or two, and add some art to the walls. But for the most part its finished.. and I LOVE it. This is the first prefab I’ve really felt at home and comfortable in. I think I really like the privacy.

Thanks to Pumpkin for such a great find!

~ by Nika Dreamscape on April 28, 2009.

3 Responses to “City Nights”

  1. […] The baked light texture used on the floor looks just like moonlight streaming through the windows. I fell in love with this skybox as soon as I saw it, and I still can’t believe it was only $1L. What a generous gift, from creator Al Ogee. I love how a city looks at night with the dark blue sky and all the lights. After I got the skybox, I was inspired to continue that theme and add more windows of a similar type, before decorating it. It has turned out to be one of my favorite prefabs that I’ve owned in SL, so far. If you’d like to see what I ended up doing with the Los Angeles By Night skybox, you can see the pictures on my personal blog here. […]

  2. Looks wonderful, Nika! Love the skyline views thru the windows, and that livingroom rug 😀 Well Done.

  3. That TV is HUGE, Nika

Leave a Reply

 
