New Skin

I’ve been thinking about trying out a new skin for a little while, now. Its been over a year since I’ve joined SL, and I’ve pretty much stuck with the same couple of skins I’ve had from early on. My very first skin was a gift from Keeme. The Angela series from RaC, now known as Laqroki. When I’m not in my Angela skins, I usually have something I’ve picked up from Chai. I like the ginger skins from there a lot, although lately I’ve been feeling like they are a bit ‘intense’ around the eyes.

I asked around to find out who some of my friends consider the best skin designers, then I went out and grabbed a lot of demos. And I do mean a lot! I spent a couple of days plowing through dozens of demos from a handful of designers, and now I have it narrowed down to my four favorites. My friend, Raven Haalan, offered to do the photoshoot for this blog post. He’s a really great photographer and has been doing a lot of the photos for his partner and another good friend of mine, Isle Lunasea. I’ve never had any photo work done, and he has a really neat studio, so I thought it would be fun to blog my top picks and see which one people think would be the best choice. 🙂

*YourSkin* ChiaraRel_Ocean_Rose_Hair_Platinum

*YourSkin* ChiaraRel_Ocean_Rose_Hair_Platinum

*YourSkin* ChiaraRel_Ocean_Rose_Hair_Platinum

 

*YourSkin* ChiaraRel_Ocean_Rose_Hair_Platinum

*YourSkin* ChiaraRel_Ocean_Rose_Hair_Platinum

Belleza Brooke Pale 1

Belleza Brooke Pale 1

Belleza Brooke Pale 1

 

Belleza Brooke Pale 1

Belleza Brooke Pale 1

Curio Petal – Lovely – [Dark] Lovely Chocolate Peach 1

Lovely- Chocolate Peach 1″]Curio Petal Lovely [Dark] Lovely- Chocolate Peach 1

 

Curio Petal Lovely

Curio Petal Lovely

Tuli Meredith (Fair) Fancy Frost/3

Tuli Meredith

Tuli Meredith

Tuli Meredith

Tuli Meredith

Please comment, and let me know what you all think. 🙂 Special thanks to Raven and Isle, I had a lot of fun doing this!

Photos by Raven Haalan

Poses – Boudoir Rouge series by Codebastard Redgrave

Swimsuit- Canimal – Puyu SwimSuits (floral)

Eyes- Earthstones Stoned Eyes – Malachite and Opal

Hair- ETD Keri – Auburn Blackened

~ by Nika Dreamscape on April 13, 2009.

9 Responses to “New Skin”

  1. I have to say that new Curio skin gives me goosebumps… I don’t want to play faves or anything, but there it is. The Tuli has a great look too, not to leave it out. Thanks for hangin out Nika, I had major fun. 😉

  2. Curio. Yours is one of the few shapes that can wear it and make it look different.

  3. I have a love of all skins Tuli so I am bias. I am particular about the eyebrows if I cannot mod them. Tuli’s brows always look good regardless of what hair color I choose to wear.

  4. You look so so pretty in that Curio skin! You MUST get it.

  5. I like Curio Petal Lovely myself. 🙂 Did you know Laqroki’s having a super sale on all their “Portrait” skins? (top level of the store). Might be worth an extra day of research?

  6. I really only like the last two, but you might want to check out the bald bases you’re wearing with those skins, your eyebrows really seem to change pic to pic. The second to last one, your face looks ‘pleading’. The Tuli one looks best though.

  7. curioooo! 🙂 Fun shoot! You look great in all the skins, but the Curio has such personality on you, makes me smile. Looking forward to seeing it on you without the lines.

  8. Curio. Hands down.

  9. I’m partial to Tuli skins, but I think the Curio looks best in these photos. For one thing, the coloring is more vibrant. To me the eyebrows on the Curio don’t look pleading, but suggest intensity & depth of feeling. On the Tuli, the eyebrows make the avatar look a bit more aloof, but it’s still a nice look. Which one do you like?

Leave a Reply

 
