Creme de Menthe Cake

This is not a Second Life related post, but CeNedra Rivera is doing a holiday recipe challenge  on her blog, and I decided I’d really like to share mine here, as well. I highly recommend this cake, its a family recipe my mom passed along to me and I’d love to share it. If anyone makes this and enjoys it, that would make me very happy. 🙂 So here is a repost from what I left in her comments:

I’m going to do my best with this one- I’m one of those people who no longer uses written recipes to cook. I do it all by instinct or just eyeballing it, but here goes:

Creme De Menthe Cake

Prepare 1 package of WHITE cake mix according to instructions. (Do not use vanilla cake- must be white cake mix). After its all mixed and before baking- stir in some creme de menthe liquour. How much you use is up to you, I would say at least a few tablespoons or capfulls. The alcohol will bake out of the cake anyway, so this is mostly just for coloring and to add a subtle mint flavor to your cake. I usually add just enough so it gets a nice green color but doesn’t make the cake too watery. I probably do at least 6 capfulls of creme de menth.

Now, bake your cake according to the directions on the box. After its finished and you have taken it out of the oven, let it cool enough so that its just a little bit warm still. Over the top, spread a nice thick layer of chocolate fudge topping- the kind you use on ice cream. (NOT icing or frosting). I tend to use a full jar, or close to it.

IMPORTANT– your cake must be completely cool before you proceed to this next step. You could even put your cake in the fridge for a little bit to chill it, if you wanted.

The final touch: Take 1 full tub of Cool Whip topping, and stir in a few more capfulls of Creme De Menthe. Go sparingly- if you add too much, it will water down your cool whip. Your tub of cool whip should have a nice green tinge to it, and should taste nice and minty. Use as much or as little as you like- I probably use about 4 capfulls. I like mine to be fairly strong, so I use as much as I can get away with before it becomes too watery. Just add one capfull at a time and stir well until its the way you like it. Spread this evenly over the top of the fudge topped cake.

IMPORTANT– You must store this cake in the fridge, or the cool whip topping will melt and leave big ugly chocolate patches showing through your beautiful cake, and you will be annoyed and have to start over. 😉

Serve chilled with cold, cold milk. Mmmmm! (Not recommended for holiday parties)

~ by Nika Dreamscape on December 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
