All Work And No Play

A funny thing happened to me the other day, that I felt like sharing.

As I’ve mentioned before, I spend a lot of my time in SL hidden away somewhere, working on one thing or another. I have a bad habit of not getting out to socialize much. Its not that I don’t want to- I really DO. But its like I have some weird form of OCD that makes me feel almost guilty if I’m not getting something done. I often find myself tucked away on some abanonded island or some other out of the way spot with no one around and little distraction.

The other night one of my oldest blogger friends, Quaintly, sent me an IM asking if I wanted to come by her place and hang out. The first thing that went through my mind was that I had so much to get done, I couldn’t possibly make time to hang out. Then I realized what I was doing to myself- yet again. I think thats one of my worst habits in SL! I really don’t know why I do that- I love hanging out with my friends! And especially Quaintly, who I almost never see in world because of the time difference. After realizing how silly I was being, I took the TP over to her place on Envision and had a good time just hanging out in her beautiful backyard, sorting inventory and talking girl talk. 🙂 I should do that more often. I can’t tell you how many times I’ll see group chatter about people hanging out or organizing group trips to do some hunt or go lucky chair hopping.. and part of me really wishes I could go. If I didn’t have so much to do. I think its even been affecting my blogging, lately. Think about it.. how many posts do you see on my personal blog, compared to my ‘work blog’. (Second Homes) I usually want to blog something.. but can never find anything to talk about. Gee, I wonder why that is?

So the other morning I was over at Mudshake, writing a post for Second Homes. I was so involved in what I was doing, I didn’t really notice Keeme come online. Actually I think I did, but I was busy and distracted and hadn’t had much of a chance to talk to him yet. Then I ended up getting a phonecall that pulled me away from the computer for the better part of an hour. When I finally got back to the computer..I wasn’t at Mudshake anymore. In fact, I didn’t know where the hell I was. All I could see was that I was pushed up against some ban lines with my camera going crazy.. and Keeme standing near me, building some box and looking suspicious. He’s the only person who I have given map rights to.. Turns out- I was being kidnapped!

Seems that while I was gone, Keeme decided it was time for me to take a little break. I wish I had gotten a picture of where I ended up when I came back to the computer, but I was too confused at the time to think of it. He took this snapshot along the way, and sent it to me. I still had NO idea where he had taken me or how we got there. So we went back up to Mudshake and he retraced the steps for me. Turns out, he had pushed me onto a bridge and over the side.. through a canal to the side of a hill. Down the hill and over some traintracks – the ones in this photo. I got stuck on the tracks so he built some sort of battering ram and used it to knock me over the edge of the tracks and into the grass again. Then he continued pushing me down the next hill until we got hung up on some ban lines. I guess thats what he was building when I came back- something to get me over or past the area I was stuck on, LOL. I thought it was the funniest thing! After all that, I did take a break to hang out with him. We had a nice explore around some castle/dungeon. We split when we fell through a trapdoor into a dungeon full of scary look ‘toys’ and devices and a guy named “Merle” showed up! We escaped from the dungeon and ended up at a pretty beach where we rested and talked until Keeme had to go. It was nice. 🙂

I’m glad I gave him map rights- it did me a lot of good to have him come and force me to take a break, when I probably wouldn’t have before. 🙂

But speaking of work.. one of the projects I’ve been working on lately is trying to recapture the gorgeous views and feelings of home from our old place on Nowhereville, and bring them back to “Crime House”. I still have the house packed up in my rezzhud, so we can ‘go home’ whenever we feel like it. But the big thing we were missing was the view.. when you’re 400 meters in the sky, lets face it- the view sucks! So, I’ve been working on putting panels over the windows of Crime House and matching up the pictures I took out the windows on our last night on Nowhereville.

 Its not perfect, by far. But it still makes me feel warm and fuzzy when I ‘look out the windows’. Its really hard to get the textures lined up perfectly.. so some of the windows look better than others. The first time I was working on it, I TP’d Keeme in and for just a second, he thought we were really home. 🙂 (Then he accused me of ‘tricking him’, and ran out the door, LOL)

But anyway.. all in all, I think its not too bad.

Its not quite home sweet home.. but its close!

~ by Nika Dreamscape on October 21, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
