5 Things You Didn’t Know About Me

I feel like I’m always the last one to get around to doing the meme’s, since my schedule during the work week is so hectic. But I have an extended lunchbreak today, so I think I’ll have time to get to this one. I love that people put these out there- its always so much fun to read everyone’s answers and get to know a little bit more about them. And they’re a lot of fun to fill out, even if it takes me forever to do it. 🙂

This one is from Cen:

5 things you didn’t know about me in Real Life:

1. I have a terrible phobia of driving. Its extremely difficult for me to drive myself anywhere. I even hate riding in cars, but at least then I can close my eyes! I didn’t get my license until I was in my early 20’s, and even then I didn’t use it. I didn’t start actually driving until about 2 or 3 years ago. I still can’t really just get in the car and go anywhere unless its a route I’m very familiar with. I’m not looking foward to the 30 minute drive (each way) to the strip next week for PME. I have cancelled plans many times in the past because of this.

2. Everyone talked about 8/8/08 yesterday- what most people don’t know is that it was my 34th birthday. 🙂

3. I hate monkeys with a passion! I think they’re weird and creepy, and they offend me, lol. If I even see a monkey on tv (the rare times when I actually have it on), I change the channel.

4. I’ve done freelance journalism on and off most of my life, starting in 7th grade. A couple of years ago I did some freelance journalism for Blue Man Group for a couple of years. (I didn’t work directly for the company, but for an independant website that worked with them.)

5. I also did a year of volunteer technical theatre during the same time, and it was SO much fun. The best experience I had was working backstage at House Of Blues at Mandalay Bay for one night. It was a benefit production that was sort of like a talent show done by the actors from various shows on the Las Vegas strip, including Cirque du Soleil, Blue Man Group, Sirens of TI, Thunder From Down Under, and a couple of Celine Dione’s backup singers. (No, she was not there.) I got to run around with a walkie-talkie, and it was the coolest experience of my life. 🙂

5 Things You Didn’t Know About me in Second Life:

1. A couple people who know me very well already know this- but not most. I really am not joking about my dislike of robot avatars, and I’m usually not trying to be funny when I fly away from them, lol. (This does not apply to Crap, who lately has been wearing a human skin anyway)

2. The majority of my time spent in SL is shopping, and yet I have never bought a single pair of shoes or underwear. I only own 4 or 5 pair of shoes, all were freebies. And my avatar still never wears any underwear. *Laughs* Is that normal? Do most people?

3. For some reason, I like to idle/afk on rooftops a lot. I spend a lot of time working in several windows, and unless I’m with a group of people, I almost never stay on the ground.

4. I had a facelight from hell for the past few months because I always keep my environment set to mid day, so I never knew it looked like a train headlight until I saw a couple pictures taken at night. *Blush*

5.  I have a phobia about changing clothes in public. Anytime I want to switch outfits, I’ll even hide in some bushes, or fly a hundred meters into the air.

~ by Nika Dreamscape on August 9, 2008.

10 Responses to “5 Things You Didn’t Know About Me”

  1. omg. HAPPY BIRTHDAY, NIKA!!!! Woooooo! Yay another August baby 🙂 Awesomeness!

    I *love* to drive and will drive anywhere. Used to get lost a lot when I first started driving in the city, lol. But I was a journalist (another thing we have in common!) and I didn’t have a choice, I had to go on assignments! lol

  2. You know Radar will see this an be a Monkey all the time around you. 🙂
    I own underwear but unless something is see through or can be upskirted, I never wear it. You don’t want to know how many shoes I own. I have a house in the sky for AFKing, IMing or Inventory organizing. I find I can spend hours just talking to people in IM and not go anywhere, how is this different than using a chat program? With lags recently I have had clothing rezzing malfunctions… I have given up hiding if you really want to see the nipples on my skin, go for it. I buy good skins and no one ever gets to see those bits otherwise. For facelamps I found the one over at Wilted Rose for $1l that gives you several lamps for Cool, Warm and Full Bright settings is nice, but I default to the one in the Mystitool more often than not.

    I will try not to forget my human skin or wear my wind up key near you… (I have Curio Obsura skins and the Robot Within layer too)

  3. OMG I HATE MONKEYS TOO!! Years ago at the zoo, I saw one jerk off and spooge all over his chest. From that point on, I realized there is nothing cute or funny about them and the only reason people think they’re ‘smart’ is because they’re human shaped. If a dolphin or dog or even a squirrel had a human shape, they would prove to be quite smart, they’re just limited by their shapes.

  4. And why weren’t we informed earlier that it was your birthday?! Happy birthday, dear Nika!!!!!

  5. […] there’s a new meme going around the blog-o-verse, and I’d figure I’d join […]

  6. circa 2004… [some things never change!]

    Cyn: (madface)
    eb: sorry, i forgot you didn’t like monkeys
    Cyn: LOL

    eb: ommmmmmggggg CUTE!!!!!
    eb: (baby monkey on leno) *luv*
    Cyn: ?
    eb: LOLLLLL *luv*
    Cyn: (madface) *STABSTAB*
    eb: 😮 …OMG!!!!!
    eb: Jay leno just dropped him on the desk LOLLLLLL
    Cyn: LMAO!
    eb: and the monkey is like whiiiiiiine whiiiiiiiine!!! squeak whiiiiine!!
    eb: LOLLLL
    Cyn: LOL awwwwwwwwww! *beats Leno*
    eb: LOL poor baby!
    Cyn: poor Monkey grr

    eb: LOL it’s cuuuuuuute
    eb: cute fuzzy monkey
    Cyn: I know you are not talking to me about monkeys

    [ps, Cyn, I skimmed through a couple archives to find one of those quotes this blog reminded me of… and ended up laughing so ridiculously hard I was bawling and sounded like a hyena and gave myself a headache… I miss you!! hahaha!]

    Also, happy birthday a couple days ago! 🙂 Did my silly-loud card get there okay? 😉

  7. whoops, those are three different convos up there… the paragraph breaks aren’t as obvious as I thought they’d be! ah well, hehe.

  8. Quaintly- Aww, thank you! 🙂 Yeah, I think half of SL is having their RL birthdays this month.

    Daphne- I tried to find the Wilted Rose facelight, but couldn’t.. there is one in the mysti-tool, though? I just got one, I’ll have to look! As for the robot skin- the skin doesn’t bother me. It still looks human enough. What I don’t like are the ones people like Keeme and Stuart keep chasing me around with, hehe.

    Jessyka- Your comment made me crack the hell up in the computer room at work, LOL. Thats disgusting!

    Alicia- I have a bad habit of not telling people, I don’t know why. Thanks! *hugs* 🙂

    Jen- LOL that made so much more sense when I saw it was multiple conversations. I couldn’t figure out why I was going on and on about monkeys. I miss you too! *Hug* I’ll recheck my mail tomorrow.

  9. wow that is pretty funny. Can’t change in public lol that’s awesome!

  10. Now we know you have an avatar named “Cyn” somewhere, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
