Good Things Come..

I haven’t been this excited about Second Life since I first rezzed in world, back in December.

You see, every since Keeme and I got our house, I’ve been desperately wanting land to put it on. Actually, it goes even further back than that. A few months ago when I first started house shopping, I had picked out the home we now dub ‘Crime House’. The information listed on the house said it fits on ‘most’ 4096 lots. Keeme and I were both in love with the house, so I started looking around for possible land to put it on. At the time, I was smacked in the face with the harsh reality: I could afford tier, but not the buy in cost. I was pretty picky on where I wanted to buy land. I absolutely did not want mainland, because I didn’t want to see those huge SALE signs, all the junk floating around, and the general clutter than you see on mainland. Plus, I didn’t want tons of strangers being around or trying to get into our house. I was also wary about buying land from just anyone.. because as people know, there can be a lot of problems with that.

Radar had recommended CZ Estates to me, and said it was a really nice area. I looked around and had to agree- it was beautiful, quiet, and he said the people who run it were very trustworthy. Unfortunately, the only land for sale was running around $150 USD, which was way out of my price range.

Disappointed, I had to give up. Eventually Itazura gifted me with his awesome rezzhud (which I highly recommend). That solved part of our problem, because we were able to at least have a home and use the rezzhud to rez it wherever we could find a spot. But it was extremely stressful for me. And I just didn’t feel right about ‘squatting’ on other people’s land when they weren’t around. Even though I would rez it at least a thousand meters in the air, and clear it if I saw anyone show up.. I hated having to watch the mini map at all times, and I just couldn’t really relax and enjoy it.

Thats where Crap Mariner stepped in, and saved the day. ๐Ÿ™‚ He informed me that a half parcel had opened up on Nowhereville, and that the residents were asking around to see if anyone was interested. After some discussion and a test-rezzing of the house, we figured out that it would JUST fit, and Keeme and I were put on the list of interested parties. I have to say, this was the longest couple of weeks I’ve been through in a long time. I’m not even sure if it was two weeks- I have a feeling it was only one, lol. But it felt like a month, and I’ve been on the edge of my seat.. breath held, all fingers, eyes, and toes crossed, hoping I’d get the chance to move in. Last night, I got the good news.. ๐Ÿ™‚

I really cannot say how ecstatic I am. I woke up this morning more excited to log into SL than I can remember since December. Last night I went over to Nowhereville and just spent some time walking around on the beach.. enjoying the scenary and savoring the moment, before I rezzed the house.. this time, permanently.

It was a tight fit, and I was EXTREMELY nervous because everytime it was the first time I did it by myself. I’m very intimidated by editing things.. and especially something as big as the house. Keeme always did that when we first got it. I gave him edit rights and just stepped back to let him position it, because he knows how to do that kind of stuff. When I set it up with the rezzhud, Itazura was there to walk me through it. And when Crap and I tested it on this land before, Crap did it. Last night I was on my own, and scared to death I’d somehow dismantle the thing. ๐Ÿ˜€ But I made it work- I was so proud of myself.

I spent probably 15 minutes positioning, rotating, moving it a meter at a time to try and get it right. I was so focused and busy that it wasn’t until I finally got it locked into place and saved.. before I turned around and noticed the most breath taking view behind me.

I stood there for the longest time, just staring in amazement. All this time we’ve been using the house with the rezzhud at 1000 meters, and the only view out that window has been a gray sky. We had a platform that we used as a lawn and I was trying to put trees and bushes outside that window so that we’d have something to look at. And it was ok, but still just that flat sky behind it. THIS looked like a beautiful painting to me. I feel so incredibly fortunate to have such a beautiful home.

A little while later, Crap and Hope Clary came over to check out the house and say hello, and I showed them the view.

Hope commented that she was able to really see her own home from a new perspective, since she and Daphne live across the channel from us. And thats another bonus to living on Nowhereville- I have a feeling I’m going to be able to make some new friends, and get to know people better that I’ve only seen in passing before. I’ve met Hope a time or two, but I don’t think we’ve ever spoken much more than hello. She’s a sweetie though, and showed me a really nice place to buy tropical trees and plants for my home, then took me up to show me her skybox across from us. It was fun getting to know her. ๐Ÿ™‚

I told Keeme a couple of days ago that we had a really good chance at getting land, and that I hoped to have good news for him on Saturday. Last night he logged on and I TP’d him over. “Welcome home.” It was so awesome to be able to say that to him. He couldn’t believe how great the house looked there. In fact, the first words out of his mouth were, “Thats not the same house.” LOL. He didn’t even recognize it, at first. He was blown away though, and incredibly happy as well. We were hanging out inside for awhile and looking around, and at one point he commented on the fact that we were spending time inside instead of outside. I said I had noticed that, too. That was the really strange thing, before.. everytime we rezzed the house with the rezzhud, we would stay outside in the front yard, or we’d sit on the porch steps. But we wouldn’t really stay inside the house for more than a couple of minutes. I think it was because I never really felt comfortable.. and I knew that at any given second we would have to derezz the house and leave, if someone showed up. Now that we have land, it finally feels like Home.

I really can’t thank Crap and the other residents of Nowhereville enough. I’m extremely thrilled, and proud to be a resident of the Five Islands.

~ by Nika Dreamscape on July 20, 2008.

4 Responses to “Good Things Come..”

  1. Congratulations! Your happiness just oozes through this post. I am so happy for you Nika!

  2. That is so cool, I’m happy for you ๐Ÿ™‚
    Crap is such an amazing guy.

  3. Congratulations, Nika (and Keeme, too)!!! I am so happy for you. I actually started crying reading your post. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. congrats Nika! I remember my first land and house. It was a treehouse and I just loved it! Enjoy decorating! ๐Ÿ™‚ And Crap, that was so sweet of you. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

 
