Thanks, Everyone

Last nights art exhibition went far better than I could have ever imagined. Truthfully, I was pretty nervous.. its one thing to show my work off in my blog or to have it in a shop somewhere. But it felt a little strange to be there as others were looking at them. I guess I feel a little bit shy about that.. I wonder if clothing or hair designers feel the same way when they see people in their stores. Or at least, some of the newer ones that are just starting out.

Stefanik posted a group notice to the members of S&S Galleries, and I dropped a couple of them out to the Second Life Artists and the SL Photographers groups. I haven’t been to any art openings or gallery exhibitions before, so I really didn’t know if people would come. I honestly expected maybe a handful to trickle in throughout the hour. But the whole thing turned out to be far better than I could have ever hoped for. What was supposed to be a one hour event ended up going for over two and a half hours. Over 30 people came, and I even sold several pieces of my art. 🙂 The best part of the whole thing was meeting SO many artists and gallery owners, it was so much fun talking to everyone. I met some deeply cool people, and I’m really excited to start going to more of these events for other artists. And to anyone who might be reading this that has not checked out the art scene or galleries in Second Life.. you really should. There is some fantastic, amazing work out there. It is incredible to me how big the art scene is within Second Life.. There are countless numbers of galleries, and events are happening every day.

I want to especially thank Oya Bright, Vivienne Darcy, Rhonda Pennel, Cleome Jewell, and Phost Whiteberry. Thank you for your support, and I look forward to seeing some of your works very soon. And thank you again to Stefanik Dagostino of S&S Galleries of Fine Art for hosting me.

~ by Nika Dreamscape on February 26, 2008.

4 Responses to “Thanks, Everyone”

  1. oh, man.. i meant to go, too.. and then i don’t even know what brand of “sidetracked” happened. 😦 well, i’m glad it went well, and congrats! that’s very cool! good job.

  2. Thank you, Radar. 🙂 And its alright, maybe next time. I’m supposed to have an exhibition about once a month as I rotate new work through.

  3. Oh no! I missed it! *whacks self on head*

    I’m so glad it went well! Congratulations on your first exhibition 🙂 I must pop by and take a look. I need pictures for my very bare walls 😉

  4. sorry I couldn’t be there either during your official opening but I was just there and your art is amazing! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
