Tonight, I attended another live music event. Every Monday at 6pm, there is an open mic night over on Los Arboles. It lasts a couple of hours, and the musicians are varied in their styles, and all very talented. Tonights lineup included:

Rich DeSoto http://www.richpalmer.com/richdesoto/
Joaquin Gustiv http://www.purevolume.com/joaquingustav
Rain Vieria http://www.myspace.com/vivemusic
Julian2914 Hifeng http://www.myspace.com/julian2914hifeng
Juel Resistance http://www.thesixtyone.com/JueLResistance/ or www.myspace.com/7juel
Jackson Oxberger (No site yet)

I really enjoy the whole open mic concept on Second Life, because its a good way to get to sample a mix of musicians without having to go sim hopping all over the grid. I’ve done that before.. played leapfrog from venue to venue to venue trying to find something I like, and it can be pretty tedious. Already, I found a few really good musicians tonight that I’ll probably see again at other shows now that I’ve heard their music. I particularly enjoyed Rain Vieria, who had a really interesting and amazing style. You can sample his original music on his myspace page, where he has a handful of songs available.
Rain Vieria at Los Arboles open mic

As I was listening, I jotted down the people who performed so I could grab their websites from their profiles. But when the time came to sit down and write, I realized that Jackson Oxberger was the only one who didn’t have a site listed anywhere. It surprised me because he’s really good, he did some instrumental electric guitar and was very talented. He had mentioned at the end of his set that he had to go because he was playing another open mic somewhere else. I wanted to send him a quick IM and ask if he had a website he wanted me to include in this post, but I wanted to make sure he wasn’t onstage performing at the time. So, I checked the events list to see where the 8pm open mic was at and saw one listed at Moulin Rouge. I popped over there, and wow! What a great venue. I think the only thing I don’t like about live music shows is that it gets very crowded and its hard to see or move around. This place was huge, though. When you walk in, you’re standing at the top of a roped off balcony overlooking the stage and dance floor which in itself is very spacious. I wasn’t planning on sticking around, but I liked the atmosphere that I’m still there listening as I write up this entry. 

As for Jackson, he said he does not have a website yet but hopefully he will in a couple of weeks or so. However, according to his profile you can see him every Monday night in Los Arboles, and weekly at the Merry Pranksters. 

I’ll end this with a photo of Mich Rumpler performing at the Moulin Rouge Theatre and Grand Ballroom. 

I really need to learn how to post surls.

~ by Nika Dreamscape on January 21, 2008.

One Response to “”

  1. http://slurl.com/secondlife/Moulin%20Rouge/40/186/29

    This is the SLURL for the Moulin Rouge. Their hours are 7-9 Thur through Saturday in the Main Ballroom. There are other events on the Moulin Rouge Island and the calendars are all over the island with event information. Please come enjoy live shows and great live musicians with us!

Leave a Reply

 
