Its funny how often times I really, really want to write in my blog. But for whatever reason, I can’t seem to do it. Its not a matter of time, or material to write about. I think I’m just really picky about how I write.. I can’t tell you how many times I’ll start writing and get an entire paragraph or two out.. then just delete it all away. I love taking and posting pictures in this blog, but I don’t want to let myself get into the habit of making this a photo blog. I’d like to have some good, solid content in here as well. I love pictures as much as the next person, but I like to read about other people’s thoughts and experiences to go along with those pictures. I can only assume thats the case for most people. 

I guess sometimes the words flow easier if I just open my mind and let myself write down my thoughts as they come to me, rather than mentally outline everything I want to talk about. 

Having said that, now I feel like I can move on to the point of this post: Live music in Second Life. 

When you consider that by the time I was a freshman in high school I started getting into independant musicians and started up my own fanzine.. later moving on to freelance journalism and music promoting, that I’d be more into the music scene on SL. The truth of the matter is, I’ve largely been missing out on most of that until recently. I briefly caught Phil Rossi (aka PR Lovenkraft) over at the Lonely Yak Club on one of my first nights on Second Life.. but I didn’t stick around very long, so I’m hoping he’ll do a show again pretty soon. I had not seen any other live music until a week or so ago when I caught the Maximillion Kleene concert on Podcaster Island. That was pretty much the turning point for me.. I wasn’t planning on staying for his whole set. I had other plans to go dancing with a couple of friends over at Club Caramel at the Bellagio. The idea was to stop in and listen to maybe two or three songs by Max, then move on. All three of us (Salaamata, his wife Abracapocu, and myself) were so impressed, we ended up staying for the whole show and put our own plans off until it was over. I wanted to join his group that night so I could keep up to date on his upcoming shows, but the sim was so insanely packed that I didn’t want to even try finding his group organizer or trying to get close enough to the stage to click his sign. So, I waited a day or two and joined the group later on. I was really happy to find out that Max plays a lot more often than I was expecting. I assumed I’d only be able to catch a show every now and then. As it turns out, he seems to do at least two or three shows a day. I’m pretty sure I saw him just about every night this past week. In fact, I had to really buckle down and do some serious camping and surveys yesterday and today to regain some of the tip money, since I now tip at every show I go to. I still can’t afford to tip as much as some people, but I contribute what I can. 

Funny thing is, even though Second Life is a virtual world in which we’re all just people controlling pixels on a computer screen.. I noticed that a lot of the SL musicians seem to all be suffering the same kind of cold/sore throat issues this weekend. I caught Max at the Hard Rock last night, and he was really favoring his throat and clearing it alot between songs. He still sounded great, but I could tell he was struggling a little bit. I wasn’t surprised to get a group notice earlier that he had to cancel all of todays shows. Its probably a good thing that he did, after singing at least two or three hours a day, he could probably stand to give his vocal chords a rest. 

Since I wasn’t going to be able to catch a Max show tonight, I did a little exploring on the live music search to find something else to listen to. I tried to catch someone called KevinMThomas Carpool, but when I got to the venue I heard them mentioning that he’s sick, too. There was a woman onstage taking over his set by the name of Phemie Alcott.. She turned out to be suffering the same bug, because she coughed through her entire set as well. Still, she sounded great and I really enjoyed her music so I stuck around for the whole thing. You can find her at http://myspace.com/phemiealcott . 

As for Maximillion Kleene, you can find his group by searching under groups for Rhythm Collective, or visit his myspace. http://www.myspace.com/maximillionkleene . From what I’ve seen, he’s got to be one of the most popular musicians on Second Life. He does some really great covers, and I love his banter with the audience. Its a lot of fun to see him perform, so join his group or do a live music search to check out one of his shows. He usually plays around 6pm SLT most nights. 

(There I go, promoting again.) 

I’ll end this post with a picture from the Podcaster Island concert where I saw him for the first time. 

~ by Nika Dreamscape on January 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
