I had intended to write a little something about chat and SL etiquette. 

See, here’s my problem. For as much time as I spend on the computer, I tend to go away a LOT.. in fact, its rare for me to spend more than 20 or 30 minutes without wandering away from the computer for something or other. Usually, its more like 10 or 15. I’m not gone for long, but I do afk a lot. And even if I’m not afk, I usually have something going on in several other windows at the same time. In the past, this hasn’t been much of a problem on chats or IM conversations, because all the text is still there when I get back. And its only that- text. But in Second Life, someone could come up and be talking to me while I’m otherwise occupied, and I’d completely miss it. Or, I might be having a conversation with someone and my afk-ness might take up their time when they could be going off and doing other things. The whole concept of literal ‘face to face’ chatting is still brand new to me. 

So when I bumped into Chugabug over on Podcast Island a little bit ago, I felt kind of bad when I told her I had to run afk to heat up dinner. Its not a big deal to take a couple minutes to respond in text, but when you have an avatar standing there waiting for you, it just feels rude to keep them waiting. I hoped she didn’t take offense or think I was blowing her off when I told her I had to go afk. As it turns out, she has quite the sense of humor. This is what I came back to, when I returned to the computer. 

As far as I can tell, there were no canals anywhere near the bridge we had been standing on. How she got me off the bridge and at least a block or two away to a canal is impressive in itself. The cage was a nice touch. I’m still giggling over that. 

And she always seemed so sweet! 😉 

All you afk’ers out there.. Beware the Chugabug.

~ by Nika Dreamscape on January 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
