Hi, my name is Nika Dreamscape. And this blog is going to be all about my adventures and explorations in the online world known as Second Life. 

Second Life is a 3-D virtual world entirely created by its Residents. Since opening to the public in 2003, it has grown explosively and today is inhabited by millions of Residents from around the globe.

  • From the moment you enter the World you’ll discover a vast digital continent, teeming with people, entertainment, experiences and opportunity. Once you’ve explored a bit, perhaps you’ll find a perfect parcel of land to build your house or business.
  • You’ll also be surrounded by the Creations of your fellow Residents. Because Residents retain the rights to their digital creations, they can buy, sell and trade with other Residents.
  • The Marketplace currently supports millions of US dollars in monthly transactions. This commerce is handled with the in-world unit-of-trade, the Linden dollar, which can be converted to US dollars at several thriving online Linden Dollar exchanges. “

http://secondlife.com/

I listen to podcasts. A LOT of podcasts. See, in my real life I have an office job that requires me to sit at my desk for ten hours a day processing mail. This sort of tedious work forced me to turn to talk radio to occupy my mind. Unfortunately, the only good morning talk shows end around 10am. Music numbs my mind after awhile, so I switched over to NPR after awhile and started listening to those programs until I eventually discovered podcasting. I currently subscribe to around 35 podcasts. Actually, since people have asked me which ones I listen to, here’s a list: 

A Geek and His Wife
Are We There Yet?
Armchair Kid Nation
Betty In The Sky With A Suitcase
The Bitterest Pill
Don’t Touch The Talent
Fireside Tales With Showbiz Dad
Fly With Me
For Whatever Reason
Grits To Glitz
Hey, We’re Back!
Hometown Tales
Keith and the Girl
Living In Las Vegas
NPR: Car Talk
Podcast 411
Public Nuisance Radio
Spooky In The City
The Strip
Switchback
The Gay Trucker
Today In Podcasting
The Twisted Pickle Show
Wicked Good
Munchcast
New Yorker: Campaign Trail
SL Under The Radar
Traveling Avatar
Going Broke With Daphne And Tamara
SL Podcast News

I highly recommend checking out any and all of these podcasts. You can find them by searching the podcast directory on Itunes, or by visiting www.podcastpickle.com . Anyway, I had never heard of Second Life before until I heard Gary Leland of Podcast Pickle talking about it now and then on Today In Podcasting. I also heard a few mentions of it on Keith and the Girl. I had been curious about it for a really long time, at least a year or so if not longer. I tried to join Second Life when I heard Gary mention it because it sounded cool. Unfortunately, my eMachines that I got back in 2000 didn’t meet the system requirements, and my laptop wasn’t fast enough and it would crash as soon as the thing loaded. So, I bided my time. I figured eventually my computer would die, and whatever new one I got would be able to handle it. Low and behold, thats exactly what happened this past November. 

When my eMachines bit the dust, I got a brand new Compaq as an early Christmas present. It still took me a couple of weeks to get around to installing Second Life. But when I did.. wow, what I have been missing! First of all, I have to point out that I’m not at all familiar with this sort of interface. I’ve been playing around on MUDs and text based chatroom RPG’s for years, but nothing like this. I don’t even play video games, so its been a struggle learning to navigate my way around. But its absolutely worth the effort. When you first enter Second Life, you arrive in a tutorial area that teaches you the basics you need to navigate around the world. Things like communicating via chat, moving around by walking or flying, and how to access your inventory. I rushed through Help Island as quickly as I could.. Gary had mentioned Podcast Island several times on Today in Podcasting, and that was the first place I wanted to go. Once I figured out how to use the search and teleport features, I finally arrived. My avatar appeared on a dancefloor in front of a stage, with snowflakes falling all around. In front of me was a beautifully decorated Christmas Tree. I ventured forward towards a staircase to the right of me, where I found exactly what I had been looking for. 

~ by Nika Dreamscape on January 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
