I learned something interesting the other day, much to my chagrin. 

You see, each sim in Second Life has a default spot that you teleport to. I think I’ve heard people refer to that as 128,128, but I’m not sure what that means. Anyway- you would think that if something was placed or built on that spot, that the system would automatically either place you on top of it. Or, move your avatar over a little bit. I discovered that this is not at all the case, when I popped into Podcaster Island the other night to find that someone had put the stadium seats up on the Podcast Pickle stage where I normally teleport in. I suddenly found myself up to my chest in brick, and wedged between a row of seats. 

Could you imagine how embarrasing that would be if there really was a concert going in right then? Actually, the thought makes me laugh everytime. I’m not sure who would have been more surprised- me or the person sitting in that seat. 

Speaking of Podcast Island- I was standing around on top of a building somewhere a little bit ago, downloading some podcasts onto my shuffle, when I got to talking to Gary of Podcast Pickle. He reminded me that the new Podcaster mall was up and has spaces available for rent. (I wish I had the artwork I’m trying to build ready for sale already- but I still have a long way to go to figure out how to do all that.) I hadn’t seen it yet, so I flew over to take a look. It looks pretty sharp! 

Its brand new – I think it only opened up a couple of days ago. But the layout is really cool. I’ll have to take an ‘after’ picture when all the spaces fill up.

~ by Nika Dreamscape on January 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
